# COUNTY SHERIFFS OF COLORADO

# **CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT INFORMATION PACKET**

*Please read the following information and complete the application.* 

Return the application (and other required supporting documents) IN PERSON to:

#### **OTERO COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE**

222 East 2nd Street

**La Junta, CO 81050** 

# **CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT INFORMATION**

Carefully separate and complete the Concealed Handgun Permit Application and the Concealed Handgun Permit Information Packet. The documents must be read thoroughly and the application printed in ink or typed and completed in full. Please use additional sheets of paper if necessary, to respond to the questions. If the application is not fully completed, it cannot be processed.

An applicant shall complete the permit application form and return it, in person, to the Sheriff of the county in which the applicant resides, to the Sheriff of the county in which the applicant maintains a secondary residence or owns or leases real property used by the applicant in a business, or to the Sheriff that previously issued a permit to the applicant. The applicant shall sign the completed permit application in person, before a representative of the Sheriff's organization the applicant is applying with, upon a sworn oath that the applicant knows the contents of the permit application and the information contained in the permit application is true and correct.

An applicant who knowingly and intentionally makes a false or misleading statement on a permit application, or deliberately omits any material information requested on the application, commits perjury as described in Colorado Revised Statute (C.R.S.) 18-8-503. Upon conviction, the applicant shall be punished as provided in 18-1.3-501 of the Colorado Revised Statute. In addition, the applicant shall be denied the right to obtain or possess a permit, and the Sheriff shall revoke the applicant's permit if issued prior to conviction.

The Information portion of the packet should be kept for your future reference.

# In addition to the completed application form you must submit:

- 2 personal check, cashier's checks or money orders or cash in the amount of \$152.50 to the *Otero County Sheriff's Office*. These fees pay for fingerprinting, a state and national criminal history check, an Insta-check (NICS check), local criminal history checks, forms, CCW card and other administrative costs.
  - 1st check: \$100.00 Otero County Sheriff's Office
  - 2<sup>nd</sup> check \$52.50 Otero County Sheriff's Office
- Proof of residency. (Colorado Driver's License, Colorado ID Card or Military ID Card and Duty Orders)
- Documentary evidence demonstrating competence with a handgun as specified in section 18-12-203 (1) (h) of the Colorado Revised Statute. (See TRAINING REQUIREMENTS SECTION for further details.)

The next two items are required and will be processed at and by the Otero County Sheriff's Office. You do NOT need to bring these in advance:

- Completed fingerprints, Otero County Sheriff's Office uses LiveScan Technology for printing. (It is required that all applicants be fingerprinted to conduct a thorough background investigation and comply with State Laws.)
- Photograph. A full-frontal view color photograph of the applicant's head. The depiction of the applicant's head shall measure one and one-eighth inches wide and one and one-fourth inches high.

If you have any questions concerning the application process, please call the Otero County Sheriff's Office at (719) 384-5941.

#### **RENEWAL FEES:**

- 2 personal check, cashier's check or money order or cash for \$63.00 to the <u>Otero County</u> <u>Sheriff's Office.</u> This fee pays for fingerprinting, a state and national criminal history check, an Insta-check (NICS check), local criminal history checks, forms, CCW card and other administrative costs.
  - 1<sup>st</sup> check: \$50.00 Otero County Sheriff's Office
  - 2<sup>nd</sup> check \$13.00 Otero County Sheriff's Office

#### C.R.S. DEFINITIONS

18-12-202.2 "CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR" MEANS AN INSTRUCTOR FOR A FIREARMS SAFETY COURSE WHO IS CERTIFIED AS A FIREARMS INSTRUCTOR BY:

- (a) A COUNTY, MUNICIPAL, STATE OR FEDERAL LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY;
- (b) THE PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS AND TRAINING BOARD CREATED IN SECTION 24-31-302, C.R.S.;
- (c) A FEDERAL MILITARY AGENCY; OR
- (d) A NATIONAL NONPROFIT ORGANIZATION THAT CERTIFIES FIREARMS INSTRUCTORS, OPERATES NATIONAL FIREARMS COMPETITIONS, AND PROVIDES TRAINING, INCLUDING COURSES IN PERSONAL PROTECTION, IN SMALL ARMS SAFETY, USE, AND MARKSMANSHIP.

# 18-12-202.3 "CHRONICALLY AND HABITUALLY USES ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES TO THE EXTENT THAT THE APPLICANT'S NORMAL FACULTIES ARE IMPAIRED" MEANS:

- (a) THE APPLICANT HAS AT ANY TIME BEEN COMMITTED AS AN ALCOHOLIC PURSUANT TO SECTION 25-1-310 OR 25-1-311, C.R.S.; OR
- (b) WITHIN THE TEN-YEAR PERIOD IMMEDIATELY PRECEDING THE DATE ON WHICH THE PERMIT APPLICATION IS SUBMITTED, THE APPLICANT:
- (I) HAS BEEN COMMITTED AS AN ALCOHOLIC PURSUANT TO SECTION 25-1-308 OR 25-1-309, C.R.S.; OR
- (II) HAS HAD TWO OR MORE ALCOHOL-RELATED CONVICTIONS UNDER SECTION 42-4-1301 (1) OR(2), C.R.S. OR A LAW OF ANOTHER STATE THAT HAS SIMILAR ELEMENTS, OR REVOCATION RELATED TO MISDEMEANOR, ALCOHOL-RELATED CONVICTIONS UNDER SECTION 42-2-126, C.R.S., OR A LAW OF ANOTHER STATE THAT HAS SIMILAR ELEMENTS.
- <u>18-12-202.4 "HANDGUN"</u> MEANS A HANDGUN AS DEFINED IN SECTION 18-12-101 (1) (e.5); EXCEPT THAT THE TERM DOES NOT INCLUDE A MACHINE GUN AS DEFINED IN SECTION 18-12-101 (1) (g).

#### 18-12-202.5 "HANDGUN TRAINING CLASS" MEANS:

- (a) A LAW ENFORCEMENT TRAINING FIREARMS SAFETY COURSE:
- (b) A FIREARMS SAFETY COURSE OFFERED BY A LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY, AN INSTITUTION OR ORGANIZATION OR FIREARMS TRAINING SCHOOL, THAT IS OPEN TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC AND IS TAUGHT BY A CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR; OR
- (c) A FIREARMS SAFETY COURSE OR CLASS THAT IS OFFERED AND TAUGHT BY A CERTIFIED INSTRUCTOR.
- <u>18-12-202.6 "PERMIT"</u> MEANS A PERMIT TO CARRY A CONCEALED HANDGUN ISSUED PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THIS ARTICLE 12 OF TITLE 18; EXCEPT THAT "PERMIT" DOES NOT INCLUDE A TEMPORARY EMERGENCY PERMIT ISSUED PURSUANT TO SECTION 18-12-209.
- <u>18-12-202.7 "SHERIFF"</u> MEANS THE SHERIFF OF A COUNTY, OR HIS OR HER DESIGNEE, OR THE OFFICIAL WHO HAS THE DUTIES OF A SHERIFF IN A CITY AND COUNTY, OR HIS OR HER DESIGNEE.
- 18-12-202.8 "TRAINING CERTIFICATE" MEANS A CERTIFICATE, AFFIDAVIT, OR OTHER DOCUMENT ISSUED BY THE INSTRUCTOR, SCHOOL, CLUB, OR ORGANIZATION THAT CONDUCTS A HANDGUN TRAINING CLASS THAT EVIDENCES AN APPLICANT'S SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION OF THE CLASS REQUIREMENTS.

# **PURPOSE**

The purpose of the application is to ensure the following are met:

- To protect the safety of both the public and the permit holder, by reasonably ensuring that the licensee is mentally and physically capable of the proper conduct while handling a handgun.
- To provide a reasonable assurance that a person so licensed is knowledgeable in the use of firearms and is informed of the statutory restrictions on such use of firearms.
- To prevent the licensing of persons who are prohibited by law from the possession of such firearms.

#### **APPLICATION CRITERIA**

The application packet is to be read thoroughly and the application printed or typed and completed in full. Upon completion, the application is to be delivered to the Sheriff of the County or City and County in which the applicant resides, to the Sheriff of the County or City and County in which the applicant maintains a secondary residence or owns or leases real property used by the applicant in a business, or to the Sheriff that previously issued a permit to the applicant for processing. Only an original application will be accepted.

The applicant must meet the following criteria:

- Is a legal resident of the State of Colorado. A person, who is a member of the Armed Forces and is stationed pursuant to permanent duty station orders at a military installation in this state, and a member of the person's immediate family living in Colorado, shall be deemed to be a legal resident of the State of Colorado.
- Is twenty-one years of age or older or is at least 18 years of age if seeking a temporary, emergency permit.
- Is not ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to section 18-12-108 or Federal Law.
- Has not been convicted of perjury under section 18-8-503, in relation to information provided or deliberately omitted on a permit application.
- Does not chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages to the extent that the applicant's normal faculties are impaired.
- Is not an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance as defined in section 18-18-102(5). Whether an applicant is an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance shall be determined as provided in Federal Law and Regulations.
- Federal Law 18 USC 922(g) (3) prohibits any person who is an unlawful user of, or addicted to, any controlled substance from shipping, transporting, receiving, or possessing firearms or ammunition. Marijuana is listed in the Controlled Substances Act as a Schedule I controlled substance, and there are no exceptions in Federal Law for marijuana purportedly used for medicinal purposes, even if such use is sanctioned by

State Law. Further, Federal Law 18 USC 922(d) (3) makes it unlawful for any person to sell or otherwise dispose of any firearm or ammunition to any person knowing or having reasonable cause to believe that such person is an unlawful user of, or addicted to, a controlled substance.

Any person who uses or is addicted to marijuana, regardless of whether his/her state has passed legislation authorizing marijuana use for medicinal purposes, is an unlawful user of or addicted to a controlled substance, and is prohibited by Federal Law from possessing firearms or ammunition.

# • Is not subject to:

- 1. A restraining order issued pursuant to section 18-1-1001 or section 19-2-707, C.R.S. that is in effect at the time the application is submitted,
- 2. A permanent restraining order issued pursuant to Article 14 of Title 13, C.R.S., or
- 3. A temporary restraining order issued pursuant to Article 14 of Title 13, C.R.S. that is in effect at the time the application is submitted.
- Demonstrates competence with a handgun by submitting:
  - 1. Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions or current military service,
  - 2. Evidence that, at the time the application is submitted, the applicant is a certified instructor,
  - 3. Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces within the three years preceding submittal of the application, or
  - 4. Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces that reflects pistol qualifications obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application,
  - 5. A training certificate from a "handgun training class" (see definitions) obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application. The applicant shall submit the **original training certificate** or a photocopy thereof that includes the **original signature** of the class instructor. In obtaining a training certificate from a handgun training class, the applicant shall have discretion in selecting which handgun training class to complete.

#### **POLICY**

The issuing County Sheriff's Office will conduct criminal history background investigations on all applicants, to include queries of national, state, and local databases and issue or deny a permit within 90 days of receiving a completed application. If the applicant resides in a municipality or town, the Sheriff **shall** consult with the police department of the municipality or town in which the applicant resides, and the Sheriff may consult with other local law enforcement agencies. Regardless of whether an applicant meets the criteria in the previous section, if the Sheriff has a reasonable belief that documented previous behavior by the applicant makes it likely the

applicant will present a danger to self or others if the applicant receives a permit to carry a concealed handgun, the Sheriff may deny the permit. Accordingly, a permit routinely will be denied to a person:

- Ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to C.R.S. (Colorado Revised Statutes) 18-12-108, having been convicted of a felony offense, or convicted of an attempt or conspiracy to commit a felony, under Colorado or any other state's law or under federal law, or having any unresolved felony charges pending under the laws of this state, any other state, or the United States.
- Convicted of perjury under C.R.S. 18-8-503.
- Previously convicted of third degree assault as described in C.R.S. 18-3-204, misdemeanor third degree sexual assault as described in C.R.S. 18-3-404, misdemeanor child abuse as described in C.R.S. 18-6-401, or any municipal ordinance or law of any other state or the United States that includes similar elements, where the offense involved domestic violence as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, subpart 178.11 and does not have any such unresolved charges pending under the laws of this state, any other state, or the United States.
- Is the subject of an outstanding warrant for arrest.
- Has been adjudicated a juvenile delinquent pursuant to Article 2 of Title 19, C.R.S., or similar laws of any other state for an act that would have constituted a felony had the applicant been an adult at the time of the commission of the act, and does not have any unresolved charges for such an act pending under the laws of this state, any other state, or the United States.
- Is the subject of any valid restraining or emergency protection order, temporary or permanent, issued pursuant to C.R.S. 18-1-1001 or Section 19-2-707, C.R.S. that is in effect at the time the application is submitted.
- Who is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance as defined in section 102 of the Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 802).
- Chronically and habitually uses alcoholic beverages to the extent that the applicant's normal faculties are impaired. It shall be presumed that an applicant chronically and habitually uses alcoholic beverages to the extent that the applicant's normal faculties are impaired if the applicant has been committed as an alcoholic pursuant to C.R.S. 25-1-310 or 25-1-311 or has had two or more alcohol-related convictions or revocations under C.R.S. 42-4-1301 (1) or (2) or 42-2-126, or any law of another state that has similar elements, within the ten-year period immediately preceding the date on which the permit application is submitted. The prohibition specified shall not apply to an applicant who provides an affidavit, signed by a professional counselor who is licensed pursuant to Article 43 of Title 12, C.R.S. and specializes in alcohol addiction, stating that the applicant has been evaluated by the counselor and has been determined to be a recovering alcoholic who has refrained from using alcohol for at least three years; except it shall apply if the person was ever involuntarily committed as an alcoholic.

• Has been adjudicated mentally defective, which includes having been adjudicated incompetent to manage their own affairs, or has been committed to a mental institution.

# TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

The applicant must demonstrate competence with a handgun by submitting the following:

- 1. Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions or current military service.
- 2. Evidence that, at the time the application is submitted, the applicant is a certified instructor.
- 3. Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces within the three years preceding submittal of the application.
- 4. Proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces that reflects pistol qualifications obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application.
- 5. A certificate showing retirement from a Colorado Law Enforcement Agency that reflects pistol qualifications obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application.
- 6. A training certificate from a "handgun training class" (see definitions) obtained within the ten years preceding submittal of the application. The applicant shall submit the original training certificate or a photocopy thereof that includes the original signature of the class instructor. In obtaining a training certificate from a handgun training class, the applicant shall have discretion in selecting which handgun training class to complete.

#### **CONDUCT**

A permit holder, in compliance with the terms of a permit, may carry a concealed handgun as allowed by State Law. The permit holder shall carry the permit, together with valid photo identification, at all times during which the permit holder is in actual possession of a concealed handgun and shall produce both documents upon demand by a law enforcement officer. Failure to produce a permit upon demand by a law enforcement officer raises a rebuttable presumption that the person does not have a permit. Failure to carry and produce a permit and valid photo identification upon demand is a Class 1 Petty Offense.

A person who may lawfully possess a handgun or carry a handgun under the following circumstances without obtaining a permit and the handgun shall not be considered concealed:

- 1. The handgun in possession of a person who is in a private automobile or in some other private means of conveyance and who carries the handgun for a legal use, including self-defense.
- 2. The handgun is in the possession of a person who is legally engaged in hunting activities within the state of Colorado.

# **CARRY RESTRICTIONS**

A permit to carry a concealed handgun authorizes the permit holder to carry a concealed handgun in all areas of the state except as specifically limited as follows:

- 1. A person may not carry a concealed handgun into a place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law,
- 2. A person may not carry a concealed handgun on to the real property, or into any improvements erected thereon, of a public elementary, middle, junior high or high school,
- 3. A person may not carry a concealed handgun into a public building at which security personnel and electronic weapons screening devices are permanently in place,
- 4. A person may not carry a concealed handgun where a private property owner, private tenant, private employer or private business entity disallow.

# **PERMIT FEE**

A \$152.50 fee must accompany the application. This fee shall be paid in the form of a personal check, money order or cashier's check made payable to **Otero County Sheriff's Office.** 

These fees are *non-refundable* in the event the permit is not issued.

Fees shall be waived for retiring employees (within the first five years after retirement) of the issuing Sheriff if all other requirements are met and the applicant was previously fingerprinted as part of a pre-employment background investigation conducted by the issuing Sheriff.

#### **EXPIRATION PERIOD**

This permit is valid for a period of five years after the date of issuance and may be renewed as provided in C.R.S. section 18-12-211. A permit issued pursuant to this part, including temporary emergency permits issued pursuant to Section 18-12-209 is effective in all areas of the state, except as otherwise provided in Section 18-12-214.

A permit issued pursuant to Section 18-12-105.1, as it existed prior to its repeal shall permanently expire on June 30, 2007, or on the expiration date specified on the permit, whichever occurs first. Within 120 days prior to the expiration of a permit issued prior to its repeal, the issuing authority shall send a notice of expiration to the permit holder of the permit expiration and of his or her ability to renew the permit or obtain a new one.

#### **RENEWAL**

Up to 120 days prior to the expiration of a permit, the permit holder may renew his/her permit by submitting to the Sheriff - IN THE JURISDICTION WHERE HE/SHE LIVES -a completed renewal form and a renewal fee. If permit holder lives in Otero County, he/she shall submit a renewal form and a renewal fee of \$63.00 in the form of a personal check, cashier's check or money order, made payable to the *Otero County Sheriff's Office*. This fee is necessary to conduct a NICS check and a criminal history records check with CBI, paperwork and issuance of a renewed CCW card. NO ADDITIONAL TRAINING IS REQUIRED FOR ARENEWAL.

A permit holder who fails to file a renewal form on or before the permit expiration date may renew the permit by paying a late fee of \$15.00 in addition to the above-mentioned renewal fees. No permit shall be renewed six months or more after its expiration date and the permit shall be deemed permanently expired. A person whose permit has permanently expired may reapply by submitting a new application and the required fees.

#### PERMIT SUSPENSION/REVOCATION/DENIAL

Any peace officer in the state of Colorado may confiscate any concealed handgun permit issued by the issuing Sheriff's Office for delivery to the issuing Sheriff, when the peace officer has reasonable suspicion that the permit holder falls into a category for which the permit would not have been issued initially or would present a danger to himself or herself or others if the permit holder retains the permit. The issuing Sheriff will determine whether to suspend or revoke the permit. The suspension or revocation of the permit may be appealed directly to the Sheriff if the permit holder believes the permit was unfairly confiscated and/or revoked.

Any arrest for alcohol/drug violations; or any alcohol or controlled substance abuse will result in suspension of the permit pending legal action on the matter. Any convictions for these charges will result in revocation of the permit.

If the applicant fails to qualify under the criteria listed in section 18-12-203 (1) or that the applicant would be a danger as described in section 18-12-203 (2) and the Sheriff denies the permit application, he or she shall notify the applicant in writing, stating the grounds for denial and informing the applicant of the right to seek a second review of the application by the Sheriff, to submit additional information for the record, and to seek judicial review pursuant to section 18-12-207.

# **TEMPORARY EMERGENCY PERMITS**

A Sheriff may issue a temporary emergency permit to carry a concealed handgun to a person whom the Sheriff has reason to believe may be in immediate danger. A person shall submit to the Sheriff of the county in which the person resides (or in which the circumstances giving rise to the emergency exist) the items specified in C.R.S. 18-12-205, except that an applicant for a temporary emergency permit need **not** submit documentation demonstrating competence with a handgun.

The applicant must be eighteen years of age or older.

There is a fee of \$30.50- made payable to "Otero County Sheriff's Office" or "OCSO" to pay for fingerprint processing through the CBI (there is **no** Sheriff's Office administrative fee required).

A temporary emergency permit is valid for a period of ninety days after the date of issuance.

# MAINTENANCE OF PERMIT - ADDRESS CHANGE - INVALIDITY OF PERMIT

Within 30 days after a permit holder changes the address specified on his or her permit or three business days after his or her permit is lost, stolen or destroyed, the permit holder shall notify the issuing Sheriff of the change of address or permit loss, theft, or destruction. Failure to notify the Sheriff is a Class 1 Petty Offense.

If a permit is lost, stolen or destroyed the permit is automatically invalid. The person to whom the permit was issued may obtain a duplicate upon submittal of a notarized statement to the issuing Sheriff that the permit was lost, stolen or destroyed and the fee of \$15.00.

#### **RECIPROCITY**

Some states may honor your permit. As this information is determined, it will be posted on the Colorado Bureau of Investigations and the County Sheriffs of Colorado web sites.

#### **DATABASES**

Each Sheriff shall maintain a list of permit holders. Information may be shared with another criminal justice agency upon request for law enforcement purposes or for the purpose of determining the validity of the permit.

*There is no longer a statewide database* (any and all information in the previous statewide database was deleted on July 1, 2011).

# COLORADO STATUTES REGARDING DEADLY PHYSICAL FORCE AND CARRYING CONCEALED FIREARMS

#### 18-1-704 Use of Physical Force in Defense of a Person

- 1. Except as provided in subsections (2) and (3) of this section, a person is justified in using physical force upon another person in order to defend himself or a third person from what he reasonably believes to be the use or imminent use of unlawful physical force by that other person, and he may use a degree of force which he reasonably believes to be necessary for that purpose.
- 2. Deadly physical force may be used only if a person reasonably believes a lesser degree of force is inadequate and:
- a) The actor has reasonable grounds to believe, and does believe, that he or another person is in imminent danger of being killed or of receiving great bodily injury; or
- b) The other person is using or reasonably appears about to use physical force against an occupant of a dwelling or business establishment while committing or attempting to commit burglary as defined in sections 18-4-202 to 184-204; or
- c) The other person is committing or reasonably appears about to commit kidnapping as defined in section 18-3-301 or 18-3-302, robbery as defined in section 184-301 or 184-302, sexual assault as set forth in section 18-3-402 or 18-3-403, or assault as defined in sections 18-3-202 or 18-3-203.
- 3. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (1) of this section, a person is not justified in using physical force if:
- a) With intent to cause bodily injury or death to another person, he provokes the use of unlawful physical force by that other person; or
- b) He is the initial aggressor, except that his use of physical force upon another person under the circumstances is justifiable if he withdraws from the encounter and effectively communicates to the other person his intent to do so, but the latter nevertheless continues or threatens the use of unlawful physical force; or
- c) The physical force involved is the product of a combat by agreement not specifically authorized by law.

#### 18-1-704.5 Use of Deadly Physical Force against an Intruder ("Make My Day law")

- 1. The general assembly hereby recognizes that the citizens of Colorado have a right to expect absolute safety within their own homes.
- 2. Notwithstanding the provisions of section 18-1-704, any occupant of a dwelling is justified in using any degree of physical force, including deadly physical force, against another person when that other person has made an unlawful entry into the dwelling, and when the occupant has a reasonable belief that such other person has committed a crime in the dwelling in addition to the uninvited entry, or is committing or intends to commit a crime against a person or property in addition to the uninvited entry, and when the occupant reasonably believes that such other person might use any physical force, no matter how slight, against any occupant.
- 3. Any occupant of a dwelling using physical force, including deadly physical force, in accordance with the provisions or subsection (2) of this section shall be immune from criminal prosecution for the use of such force.
- 4. Any occupant of a dwelling using physical force, including deadly physical force, in accordance with the provisions of subsection (2) of this section shall be immune from any civil liability for injuries or death resulting from the use of such force.

# 18-1-705 Use of Physical Force in Defense of Premises

A person in possession or control of any building, realty, or other premises, or a person who is licensed or privileged to be thereon, is justified in using reasonable and appropriate physical force upon another person

when and to the extent that it is reasonably necessary to prevent or terminate what he reasonably believes to be the commission or attempted commission of an unlawful trespass by the other person in or upon the building, realty, or premises. However, he may use deadly force only in defense of himself or another as described in section 18-1-704, or when he reasonably believes it necessary to prevent what he reasonably believes to be an attempt by the trespasser to commit first-degree arson.

#### 18-1-706 Use of Physical Force in Defense of Property

A person is justified in using reasonably and appropriate physical force upon another person when and to the extent that he reasonably believes it necessary to prevent what he reasonably believes to be an attempt by the other person to commit theft, criminal mischief, or criminal tampering involving property, but he may use deadly physical force under these circumstances only in defense of himself or another as described in section 18-1-704.

#### 18-1-707 Use of Physical Force in Making an Arrest or In Preventing an Escape

- 1. Except as provided in subsection (2) of this section, a peace officer is justified in using reasonable and appropriate physical force upon another person when and to the extent that he reasonably believes it necessary:
- a) To effect an arrest or to prevent the escape from custody of an arrested person unless he knows that the arrest is unauthorized; or
- b) To defend himself or a third person from what he reasonably believes to be the use or imminent use of physical force while affecting or attempting to affect such an arrest or while preventing or attempting to prevent such an escape.
- 2. A peace officer is justified in using deadly physical force upon another person for a purpose specified in subsection (1) of this section only when he reasonably believes that it is necessary:
- a) To defend himself or a third person from what he reasonably believes to be the use or imminent use of deadly physical force; or
- b) To affect an arrest, or to prevent the escape from custody, of a person whom he reasonably believes:
- i) Has committed or attempted to commit a felony involving the use or threatened use of a deadly weapon; or
- ii) Is attempting to escape by the use of a deadly weapon; or
- iii) Otherwise indicates, except through a motor vehicle violation, that he is likely to endanger human life or to inflict serious bodily injury to another unless apprehended without delay.
- 3. Nothing in subsection (2)(b) of this section shall be deemed to constitute justification for reckless or criminally negligent conduct by a peace officer amounting to an offense against or with respect to innocent persons whom he is not seeking to arrest or retain in custody.
- 4. For purposes of this section, a reasonable belief that a person has committed an offense means a reasonable belief in facts or circumstances, which if true would in law, constitute an offense. If the believed facts or circumstances would not in law constitute an offense, an erroneous though not unreasonable belief that the law is otherwise does not render justifiable the use of force to make an arrest or to prevent an escape from custody. A peace officer who is affecting an arrest pursuant to a warrant is justified in using the physical force prescribed in subsections (1) and (2) of this section unless the warrant is invalid and is known by the officer to be invalid.
- 5. Except as provided in subsection (6) of this section, a person who has been directed by a peace officer to assist him to effect an arrest or to prevent an escape from custody is justified in using reasonable and appropriate physical force when and to the extent that he reasonably believes that force to be necessary to carry out the peace officer's direction, unless he knows that the arrest or prospective arrest is not authorized.
- 6. A person who has been directed to assist a peace officer under circumstances specified in subsection (5) of this section may use deadly physical force to effect an arrest or to prevent an escape only when:

- a) He reasonably believes that force to be necessary to defend himself or a third person from what he reasonably believes to be the use or imminent use of deadly physical force; or
- b) He is directed or authorized by the peace officer to use deadly physical force and does not know, if that happens to be the case, that the peace officer himself is not authorized to use deadly physical force under the circumstances.
- 7. A private person acting on his own account is justified in using reasonable and appropriate physical force upon another person when and to the extent that he reasonably believes it necessary to effect an arrest, or to prevent the escape from custody of an arrested person who has committed an offense in his presence; but he is justified in using deadly physical force for the purpose only when he reasonably believes it necessary to defend himself or a third person from what he reasonably believes to be the use or imminent use of deadly physical force.
- 8. A guard or peace officer employed in a detention facility is justified:
- a) In using deadly physical force when he reasonably believes it necessary to prevent the escape of a prisoner convicted of, charged with, or held for a felony, or confined under the maximum-security rules of any detention facility as such facility is defined in subsection (9) of this section.
- b) In using reasonable and appropriate physical force, but not deadly physical force, in all other circumstances when and to the extent that he reasonably believes it necessary to prevent what he reasonably believes to be the escape of a prisoner from a detention facility.
- 9. "Detention facility" as used in subsection (8) of this section means any place maintained for the confinement, pursuant to law, of persons charged with or convicted of an offense, held pursuant to the "Colorado Children's Code," held for extradition, or otherwise confined pursuant to an order of a court.

#### 18-12-105 Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon - Unlawful Possession of Weapons

- 1. A person commits a class 2 misdemeanor if such person knowingly and unlawfully:
- a) Carries a knife concealed on or about his or her person; or
- b) Carries a firearm concealed on or about his or her person; or
- c) Without legal authority, carries, brings, or has in such person's possession a firearm or any explosive, incendiary, or other dangerous device on the property of or within any building in which the chambers, galleries, or offices of the general assembly, or either house thereof, are located, or in which a legislative hearing or meeting is being or is to be conducted, or in which the official offices of any member, officer, or employee of the general assembly are located.
- d) (Deleted by amendment, L. 93, p. 964, § 1, effective July 1, 1993.)
- 2. It shall not be an offense if the Defendant was:
- a) A person in his or her own dwelling or place of business or on property owned or under his or her control at the time of the act of carrying; or
- b) A person in a private automobile or other private means of conveyance who carries a weapon for lawful protection of such person's or another's person or property while traveling; or
- c) A person who, at the time of carrying a concealed weapon, held a valid written permit to carry a concealed weapon issued pursuant to section 18-12-105.1 as it existed prior to its repeal, or, if the weapon involved was a handgun, held a valid permit to carry a concealed handgun or a temporary emergency permit issued pursuant to Part 2 of this article; except that it shall be an offense under this section if the person was carrying a concealed handgun in violation of the provisions of Section 18-12-214; or

- d) A peace officer, as described in section 16-2.5-101 C.R.S., when carrying a weapon in conformance with the policy of the employing agency, as provided in Section 16-2.5.101(2) C.R.S.
- e) (Deleted by amendment, L. 2003, p. 1624, § 46, effective August 6, 2003.)
- f) A United States probation officer or a United States pretrial services officer while on duty and serving in the state of Colorado under the authority of rules and regulations promulgated by the judicial conference of the United States.

# 18-12-105.5 Unlawfully Carrying a Concealed Weapon - Unlawful Possession of Weapons - School, College, or University Grounds

- 1. A person commits a class 6 Felony if such person knowingly and unlawfully and without legal authority carries, brings, or has in such person's possession a deadly weapon as defined in section 18-1-901(3)(e) in or on the real estate and all improvements erected thereon of any public or private elementary, middle, junior high, high or vocational school or any public or private college, university, or seminary, except for the purpose of presenting an authorized public demonstration or exhibition pursuant to instruction in conjunction with an organized school or class, for the purpose of carrying out the necessary duties and functions of an employee of an educational institution which require the use of a deadly weapon, or for the purpose of participation in an authorized extracurricular activity or on an athletic team.
- 2. (Deleted by amendment, L. 2000, p. 709, § 45, effective July 1, 2000.)
- 3. It shall not be an offense under this section if.
- a) The weapon is unloaded and remains inside a motor vehicle while upon the real estate of any public or private college, university, or seminary; or
- b) The person is in that person's own dwelling or place of business or on property owned or under that person's control at the time of the act of carrying; or
- c) The person is in a private automobile or other private means of conveyance and is carrying a weapon for lawful protection of that person's or another's person or property while traveling; or
- d) The person, at the time to carrying a concealed weapon, held a valid written permit to carry a concealed weapon issued pursuant to section 18-12-105.1 as said section existed prior to its repeal; except that it shall be an offense under this section if the person was carrying a concealed handgun in violation of the provisions of Section 18-12-214 (3); or
- (d.5) The weapon involved was a handgun and the person held a valid permit to carry a concealed handgun or a temporary emergency permit issued pursuant to Part 2 of this article; except that it shall be an offense under this section if the person was carrying a concealed handgun in violation of the provisions of Section 18-12-214 (3); or
- e) The person is a peace officer, as described in Section 16-2.5-101 C.R.S., when carrying a weapon in conformance with policy of the employing agency, as provided in Section 16-2.5-101(2) C.R.S.; or
- (f) And (g) (Deleted by amendment, L. 2003, p. 1626, § 51, effective August 6, 2003.)
- h) The person has possession of the weapon for use in an educational program approved by a school which program includes, but shall not be limited to, any course designed for the repair or maintenance of weapons.

#### 18-12-106 Prohibited Use of Weapons

- 1. A person commits a class 2 misdemeanor if:
- a) He knowingly and unlawfully aims a firearm at another person; or
- b) Recklessly or with criminal negligence he discharges a firearm or shoots a bow and arrow; or

- c) He knowingly sets a loaded gun, trap, or device designed to cause an explosion upon being tripped or approached, and leaves it unattended by a competent person immediately present; or
- d) The person has in his or her possession a firearm while the person is under the influence of intoxicating liquor or of a controlled substance, as defined in section 12-22-303 (7), C.R.S. Possession of a permit issued under section 18-12-105.1, as it existed prior to its repeal, or possession of a permit or a temporary emergency permit issued pursuant to Part 2 of this article is no defense to a violation of this subsection (1).
- e) He knowingly aims, swings, or throws a throwing star or nunchaku as defined in this paragraph (e) at another person, or he knowingly possesses a throwing star or nunchaku in a public place except for the purpose of presenting an authorized public demonstration or exhibition or pursuant to instruction in conjunction with an organized school or class. When transporting throwing stars or nunchaku for a public demonstration or exhibition or for a school or class, they shall be transported in a closed, non-accessible container. For purposes of this paragraph (e) "nunchaku" means an instrument consisting of two sticks, clubs, bars, or rods to be used as handles, connected by a rope, cord, wire, or chain, which is in the design of a weapon used in connection with the practice of a system of self-defense, and "throwing star" means a disk having sharp radiating points or any disk-shaped bladed object which is hand-held and thrown and which is in the design of a weapon used in connection with the practice of a system of self-defense.

#### 18-12-110 Forfeiture of Firearms

Upon the motion of the prosecuting attorney after the conviction of a defendant, the court may order the forfeiture of any firearms which were used by the defendant during the course of the criminal episode which gave rise to said conviction as an element of sentencing or as a condition of probation or of a deferred sentence. Firearms forfeited under this section shall be disposed of pursuant to section 16-13-311, C.R.S.

#### 18-12-213 Reciprocity

A permit to carry a concealed handgun or a concealed weapon that is issued to a person twenty-one years of age or older by a state that recognizes the validity of permits issued pursuant to this part 2 shall be valid in this state in all respects as a permit issued pursuant to this part 2.

# 18-12-214 Authority granted by permit - carry restrictions.

- (1) (a) A permit to carry a concealed handgun authorizes the permittee to carry a concealed handgun in all areas of the state, except as specifically limited in this section. A permit does not authorize the permittee to use a handgun in a manner that would violate a provision of state law. A local government does not have authority to adopt or enforce an ordinance or resolution that would conflict with any provision of this part 2.
  - (b) A peace officer may temporarily disarm a permittee, incident to a lawful stop of the permittee. The peace office shall return the handgun to the permittee prior to discharging the permittee from the scene.
- (2) A permit issued pursuant to this part 2 does not authorize a person to carry a concealed handgun into a place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law.
- (3) A permit issued pursuant to this part 2 does not authorize a person to carry a concealed handgun onto the real property, or into any improvements erected thereon, of a public elementary, middle, junior high, or high school; except that:
  - (a) A permittee may have a handgun on the real property of the public school so long as the handgun remains in his or her vehicle and, if the permittee is not in the vehicle, the handgun is in a compartment within the vehicle and the vehicle is locked.
  - (b) A permittee who is employed or retained by contract by a school district as a school security officer may carry a concealed handgun onto the real property or into any improvement erected thereon, of a public elementary, middle, junior high, or high school while permittee is on duty.

- (c) A permittee may carry a concealed handgun on undeveloped real property owned by a school district that is used for hunting or other shooting sports.
- (4) A permit issued pursuant to this part 2 does not authorize a person to carry a concealed handgun into a public building at which:
  - (a) Security personnel and electronic weapons screening devices are permanently in place at each entrance to the building;
  - (b) Security personnel electronically screen each person who enters the building to determine whether the person is carrying a weapon of any kind; and
  - (c) Security personnel require each person who is carrying a weapon of any kind to leave the weapon in possession of security personnel while the person is in the building.
- (5) Nothing in this part 2 shall be construed to limit, restrict, or prohibit in any manner the existing rights of a private property owner, private tenant, private employer, or private business entity.
- (6) The provisions of this section apply to temporary emergency permits issued pursuant to section 18-12-209.

# 30-10-523 Sheriff Permits for Concealed Weapons

The sheriff of each county and the official who has the duties of a sheriff in each city and county shall issue written permits to carry concealed handguns as provided in Part 2 of Article 12 of Title 18, C.R.S.

#### 33-6-125 Possession of a Loaded Firearm in a Motor Vehicle

It is unlawful for any person, except a person authorized by law or by the division, to possess or have under his control any firearm, other than a pistol or revolver, in or on any motor vehicle unless the chamber of such firearm is unloaded. Any person in possession or in control of a rifle or shotgun in a motor vehicle shall allow any peace officer, as defined in section 33-1-102 (32), who is empowered and acting under the authority granted in section 33-6-101 to enforce articles 1 to 6 of this title to inspect the chamber of any rifle or shotgun in the motor vehicle. For the purposes of this section, a "muzzle-loader" shall be considered unloaded if it is not primed, and, for such purpose, "primed" means having a percussion cap on the nipple or flint in the striker and powder in the flash pan. Any person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of fifty dollars and an assessment of fifteen license suspension points.