• The County Treasurer is responsible for the receipt, custody and disbursement of county funds.
  • The Treasurer is the public trustee, except in first and second class counties.
  • The Treasurer collects some state taxes and all property taxes – including those for other units of local government.
  • The Treasurer collects and disburses school funds belonging to school districts located within the county.
  • The Treasurer sends notices of and collects all property taxes for all local governments and disburses receipts for each after charging a statutory collection fee.
  • The Treasurer conducts sales of property for delinquent taxes.

Otero County Treasurer Dennis Smith

First Elected: November 1978
Current Term Expires: January 2022 


13 W 3rd St Room 213

La Junta, CO 81050

Office 719-383-3030
Fax 719-383-0109
Cell 719-469-7033

Office Staff Sharon Jones & Gayleen Springer

Treasurer Dennis Smith smiling