For accessibility assistance with information and documents on this website, please contact the Commissioner's Office at (719) 383-3000.

0

Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners serves as both the administrative and policy-making body for Otero County. While, generally, boards have only those powers specifically conferred by the state General Assembly, courts have held that they have such implied powers as may be necessary to carry out their specified powers. Constitutionally, the board also sits as the county board of equalization. The board also fills all vacancies in county offices other than those for County Commissioner and Public Trustee. All powers of the County, as a legal entity, are exercised by the Board of County Commissioners and not by its members.

Public hearings for the Board of County Commissioners are held on the 2nd & 4th Mondays of every month at 1:30 p.m. in the Bauserman Conference Room 107 in the Otero County Courthouse. Work sessions are held every Monday upon adjournment of the public hearing in Commissioners' Board Room 212.

All public hearings, work sessions, and commissioner meetings are open to the public unless the Board of County Commissioners is in executive sessions.

Otero County Commissioners

#FFFFFF

District 1: Rob Oquist

Commissioner Rob Oquist smiling in front of a bright, lush, green landscape

First Elected: November 2020
Current Term Expires: January 2025

Otero County Courthouse
13 W. 3rd Street, Room 212
La Junta CO 81050

Phone: (719) 383-3000
Fax: (719) 383-3090

Cell: (719) 468-8044

Email: roquist@oterogov.org 

District 2: Tim Knabenshue

Tim Knabenshue picture

 First Elected: November 2022
Current Term Expires: January 2027

Otero County Courthouse
13 W. 3rd Street, Room 212
La Junta CO 81050

Phone: (719) 383-3000
Fax: (719) 383-3090

Cell: (719) 241-4331

Email: tknabenshue@oterogov.org 

District 3: Jim Baldwin

Commissioner Jim Baldwin in a plaid shirt sitting and looking at the camera.

First Elected: November 2012
Current Term Expires: January 2025

Otero County Courthouse
13 W. 3rd Street, Room 212
La Junta CO 81050

Phone: (719) 383-3000
Fax: (719) 383-3090

Cell: (719) 468-1629

Email: jbaldwin@oterogov.org  

Administrative Staff

#FFFFFF

Commissioner's Office Phone Number: (719) 383-3000

NameTitleEmail
Amy White-TanabeCounty Administratoratanabe@oterogov.org
Tina MascarenasFinance Officertmascarenas@oterogov.org
Lori BurkhalterHuman Resources/Payrolllburkhalter@oterogov.org
Jennifer RifeAdministrative Supportjrife@oterogov.org 

 

#FFFFFF