Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners serves as both the administrative and policy-making body for Otero County. While, generally, boards have only those powers specifically conferred by the state General Assembly, courts have held that they have such implied powers as may be necessary to carry out their specified powers. Constitutionally, the board also sits as the county board of equalization. The board also fills all vacancies in county offices other than those for county commissioner and for public trustee. All powers of the county, as a legal entity, are exercised by the board of county commissioners and not by its individual members.

Public hearings for the Board of County Commissioners are held on the 2nd & 4th Mondays of every month at 1:30 p.m in the Bauserman Conference Room 107 in the Otero County Courthouse. Work sessions are held every Monday upon adjournment of the public hearing in Commissioners' Board Room 212.

All public hearings, work sessions, and commissioner meetings are open to the public unless the Board of County Commissioners is in executive session.

  Detailed Commissioner Calendar

 

Otero County Commissioners

District 1 Rob Oquist

Commissioner Rob Oquist smiling in front of a bright, lush, green landscape

First Elected: November 2020
Current Term Expires: January 2025

Otero County Courthouse
13 W. 3rd Street, Room 212
La Junta CO 81050

Phone: (719) 383-3000
Fax: (719) 383-3090

Cell: (719) 468-8044

Email: roquist@oterogov.org

District 2 John V. Hostetler

Commissioner John Hostetler standing with his hands in his blue jeans

First Elected: November 2018
Current Term Expires: January 2023

Otero County Courthouse
13 W. 3rd Street, Room 212
La Junta CO 81050

Phone: (719) 383-3000
Fax: (719) 383-3090

Email: jhostetler@oterogov.org

District 3 Jim Baldwin

Commissioner Jim Baldwin in a plaid shirt sitting and looking at the camera.

First Elected: November 2012
Current Term Expires: January 2025

Otero County Courthouse
13 W. 3rd Street, Room 212
La Junta CO 81050

Phone: (719) 383-3000
Fax: (719) 383-3090

Cell: (719) 468-1629

Email: jbaldwin@oterogov.org

 

Administrative Staff

Commissioner's Office Phone Number: (719) 383-3000

Amy White-Tanabe County Administrator atanabe@oterogov.org
Tina Mascarenas Finance Officer tmascarenas@oterogov.org
Lori Burkhalter Human Resources/Payroll lburkhalter@oterogov.org
Jennifer Rife Administrative Support jrife@oterogov.org